Skip to Main Content
Menu Close

NSIC Softball Championship Returns

October 16, 2018

For the first time since 2013, Rochester has been selected to host the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC) Softball Championship in 2019. The NSIC competes at the NCAA Division II level and features 16 schools throughout the Midwest The double-elimination tournament will field the top ten teams in the final NSIC regular season standings, with the winner earning an automatic bid to the NCAA Central Region Tournament.

The tournament, which takes place on the first weekend of May, has been hosted in Sioux Falls, South Dakota for the past 5 years. “The NSIC is a premier softball conference in NCAA Division II, as shown by recent post season success.  A true showcase of our league is our postseason tournament and we are excited to bring this event to Rochester,” said NSIC Commissioner Erin Lind.  “The city of Rochester has made a commitment to providing an outstanding facility to give our student-athletes a first class championship experience.”

With the continued improvements to the Rochester Youth Fastpitch Softball Complex, located near the RCTC Campus off of Highway 14, Rochester Sports saw an opportunity to submit a competitive bid to host. With the permanent structure containing a full concession stand, restrooms, and storage spaces now complete, a new Championship field that will be ready for competition next spring, and an investment by Rochester Sports and the Rochester Youth Fastpitch Softball Association to slightly alter an adjacent field to meet NCAA specifications, Rochester was able to secure enough support to win the bid.

Thanks to the hard work on the Youth Softball Complex, we are now able to provide the outstanding championship atmosphere that the NSIC strives for. We are excited to once again work with the NSIC to bring this high-level competition to Rochester, and the fact that our city is finding success in attracting these events without having an NCAA school in Rochester is something that should not be taken lightly.        

Upcoming Events:

Exchange Club Volleyball Tournament (October 19-20)

About the NSIC

The NSIC is a 16-team, 18-sport, NCAA Division II conference with teams located in Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota and South Dakota.  The mission of the NSIC is to promote, conduct and regulate competitive sports programs which will assist student-athletes in their successful athletic, academic and person development.

The NSIC has claimed 21 team national championships since 2006, including three during 2017-2018 academic year.

NSIC Member institutions include: • Augustana • Bemidji State • Concordia -St. Paul • University of Mary • Minnesota Crookston • Minnesota Duluth • Minnesota State University, Mankato •

• MSU Moorhead • Minot State • Northern State • Sioux Falls • Southwest Minnesota State • St. Cloud State • Upper Iowa • Wayne State  • Winona State •